It all started when…

The Indigenous Voices Awards (IVAs) is thrilled to announce the winners in this year’s competition celebrating the very best in literary art by Indigenous writers. At a gala event in Regina, Saskatchewan (oskana kâ-asastêki, Treaty 4 Territory) on May 29th, the IVAs awarded $26,000 in prizes across multiple categories for published and unpublished writing in English, French, and Indigenous languages. The awards were adjudicated by a jury of renowned Indigenous writers and prominent figures from the Canadian literary world including Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm, Virginia Pésémapéo Bordeleau, Shelagh Rogers, Rodney Saint-Éloi, Gregory Scofield, Jean Sioui, and Richard Van Camp.

 

Winners and Finalists:

 

·      Most Significant Work of Prose in English by an Emerging Indigenous Writer
Winner:

o   Aviaq Johnston, Those Who Run in the Sky (published by Inhabit Media http://inhabitmedia.com )

Finalists:

o   Carleigh Baker, Bad Endings (published by Anvil Press http://www.anvilpress.com)

o   Dawn Dumont, Glass Beads (published by Thistledown Press https://www.thistledownpress.com  )

o   Joanne Robertson, The Water Walker (published by Second Story Press https://secondstorypress.ca )

 

·      Most Significant Work of Prose in French by an Emerging Indigenous Writer
Winner:

o   J. D. Kurtness, De Vengeance (published by L’Instant Meme http://www.instantmeme.com/ebi-addins/im/Actualite.aspx )

Finalist:

o   Naomie Fontaine, Manikanetish (published by Memoire d’Encrier http://memoiredencrier.com )

 

Most Significant Work in an Alternative Format by an Emerging Indigenous Writer
Co-Winners:

o   Mich Cota, Musical Selections

o   Mika Lafond, Nipê Wânîn (published by Thistledown Press https://www.thistledownpress.com )

Finalists:

o   Keith Barker, This is How We Got Here (published by Playwrights Canada Press https://www.playwrightscanada.com )

o   Cliff Cardinal, Huff & Stitch (published by Playwrights Canada Press https://www.playwrightscanada.com )

Most Significant Work of Poetry in English by an Emerging Indigenous Writer
Winner:

o   Billy-Ray Belcourt, This Wound is a World (published by Frontenac House https://www.frontenachouse.com )

Finalists:

o   Tenille K. Campbell, #IndianLovePoems (published by Signature Editions http://www.signature-editions.com )

o   Joshua Whitehead, Full-Metal Indigiqueer (published by Talon Books http://talonbooks.com )

 Unpublished Poetic Piece(s) by an Emerging Indigenous Writer in English
Winner:

o   Smokii Sumac “#haikuaday and other poems”

Finalists:

o   David Agecoutay “Poetic Selections”

o   Brandi Bird “Two Poems”

o   Francine Merasty “Poetry of a Northern Rez Girl”

Unpublished Poetic Piece(s) by an Emerging Indigenous Writer in French
Winner:

o   Marie-Andrée Gill “Uashteu

Unpublished Prose Piece by an Emerging Indigenous Writer
Winner:

o   Elaine McArthur “Queen Bee”

Finalist:

o   Treena Chambers “Hair Raizing”

o   Nazbah Tom “The Hand Trembler”

o   Amanda Peters “Pejipug (Winter Arrives)”

 

The IVAs were established in 2017 to nurture and support Indigenous literary art in its diversity and complexity. Begun as a crowd-funded campaign seeking to raise a few thousand dollars to support emerging Indigenous writers, the IVAs have raised over $125,000 to date from over 1,500 different donors.

 

Requests for media interviews with finalists, jurors, and others involved in the IVAs can be made to Sam McKegney, Co-Chair of the IVAs Board, at sam.mckegney@queensu.ca .